Instant Access to State, County and Municipal Records

Minnesota.StateRecords.org is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”). You understand and acknowledge that these reports are NOT “consumer reports” as defined by the FCRA. Your access and use of a report is subject to our Terms of Service and you expressly acknowledge that you are prohibited from using this service and this report to determine an individual’s eligibility for credit, insurance, employment or any other purpose regulated by the FCRA.

How do Minnesota Courts work?

The Supreme Court is the highest legal power in the state of Minnesota. They exist mainly to review the decisions made by the Court of Appeals, to resolve any conflict or questions over law. The Court of Appeals in turn reviews the decisions made by lesser courts when one party decides to contest. These lower courts include the 87 superior or trial courts located in the 87 Minnesota counties. There are seven Supreme Court judges, 19 Court of Appeals judges, and 294 lesser court judges. The Court of Appeals heard around 2,000 cases in 2017.

Civil Cases and Small Claims

Civil courts deal with those cases in which the petitioner is looking for over $15,000. There are nearly 175,000 of these cases each year on average. These cases can also revolve around non-monetary disputes such as property, restraining orders, and name changes. On the other hand, small claims court deals with petitioners looking for under $7,500. This is not represented by counsel and nearly 150,000 of these cases are filed each year on average. These cases can include disputes over loans, warranties, repairs, and deposits, and the court can order a defendant to pay pack a fee.

Appeals and court limits

The appeals process and court limits differ between small claims court and civil court in a number of ways. In small claims court you are not allowed pretrial discovery, where as in civil court you are. You can also have a lawyer file your papers and go to court for you in civil court, while neither are allowed in small claims. Only the sued party can appeal a small claims court decision, while either party can appeal in civil court. Parties must complete their cases within 30-70 days in small claims cases, or 120 days in civil cases. The filing fees for these cases are between $30 and $100 for small claims and $180-$320 for civil. There were 1,258,302 cases filed across Minnesota district courts in 2017. You do not have to be a US citizen to defend or file in small claims court, and can hire an interpreter if your English is not of a decent level.

Why are court records public?

The Minnesota Government Data Practices Act was passed in 1991 by the state legislature. This allowed any resident of the state to access and file for copies of all records held by the state or local government. The act states that this is a fundamental right of the people of Minnesota. It emphasizes disclosure, openness, and safeguards government accountability.

A person can acquire records at:

135 Minnesota Judicial Center
25 Dr. Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: 651-296-2474
Fax: 651-297-5636



Minnesota Court Structure
Minnesota State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (218) 276-5089

Search Includes

  • Arrests & Warrants
  • Criminal Records
  • Driving Violations
  • Police Records
  • Sheriff Records
  • Inmate Records
  • Felonies & Misdemeanors
  • Probation Records
  • Parole Records
  • Bankruptcies
  • Tax & Property Liens
  • Civil Judgements
  • Marriages & Divorces
  • Birth Records
  • Death Records
  • Property Records
  • Personal Assets
  • Business Ownership
  • Professional Licenses
  • Political Contributions
  • Unclaimed State Funds
  • Relatives & Associates
  • Address Registrations
  • Affiliated Phone Numbers
  • Affiliated Email Addresses

Results are based upon available information from state, county and municipal databases, and may not include some or all of the above details.


Minnesota’s Washington County Courthouse was built between 1867 and 1870.

  • Minnesota has 3 different types of courts. They consist of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, and the District Courts.
  • The Minnesota Supreme Court has 7 judicial positions who each serve 6 year terms. It was established in 1858.
  • The Minnesota Court of Appeals began operation in 1983. It has 19 judicial positions with 6 year terms, and a mandatory retirement upon reaching 70 years of age.
  • The District Court of Minnesota was established in 1858, and covers 10 districts across the state.